These things take time…

Hello Out There!

I wanted to post an update on the current state of our internships.  I know it seems like we are moving at snail’s pace, but I assure you we’re sorting things out as quickly as logistics  allow.  I was hoping to have all of our decisions finalized this week, but  I think it may be a little longer yet before all of our applicants are contacted and final decisions are made.

Alaskan winter’s are harsh- bitter cold, with daylight only momentarily opening her eyes… if she opens them at all.  For those of you who have experienced Alaska you know that time here moves at a pace and scale all it’s own.  In summer, with it’s endless daylight, time and resources are abundant and productivity is high.  Nature’s balance demands, however, that summer’s plenitude be countered by the paucity of winter.  It takes a long time for things to happen in an Alaskan January.

As we make the plans that will ultimately lead us to  a successful field season I remind myself of a few things:

1) We have over 4 months until our field season begins (4 months and 26 days to be exact)

2) Alaska is not at my beckon call… in some cases it’s not even near cell service

3) These things take time.

Thanks for your patience.  I’ll be in touch as soon as I can.

Miche

"There will be time, there will be time
To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet;
There will be time to murder and create,
And time for all the works and days of hands
That lift and drop a question on your plate;
Time for you and time for me,
And time yet for a hundred indecisions,
And for a hundred visions and revisions,
Before the taking of a toast and tea."

               -T.S. Eliot
                The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

About Michelle Fournet

Michelle Fournet is a post doctoral researcher with the Cornell Bioacoustics Research Program and the director of the Sound Science Research Collective. She can be contacted at michelle.fournet@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Humpback Field Season 2012, Internships, Whale Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment